[Retros] Simple example with castling from Yefim Treger 08/21/2004

david at chessville.com david at chessville.com
Sat Aug 21 21:18:28 EDT 2004

"But there is no the third repetition after 5.Ke8 because of right to castle
is lost. Am I mistaken about such a rule in FIDE code: two positions are
equal if they have the same dynamic possibilities (to castle, en passant

You are correct, that does not qualify as a 3-time repetition under the laws
of chess because, as you point out, the right to castle has changed. This
has been clarified and confirmed many times.


From: TregerYefim at aol.com [mailto:TregerYefim at aol.com]

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://www.pairlist.net/pipermail/retros/attachments/20040821/c1f6d78a/attachment.htm>

More information about the Retros mailing list