[Retros] rights & ocassions / not answering Andrew anymore

Olli Heimo olli.heimo at luukku.com
Wed May 28 10:16:14 EDT 2014

Hi Joost-
I can't decide if I agree or disagree. The Codex says: "Article 18 - Repetition of Position
A position is considered as a draw if it can be proved that an identical position [21] has occured three times in the proof game combined with the solution". So after the forced 32. - Bf8 the game is over and neither player can anymore checkmate. It follows that the game is over already after 32.Rg8+. But one can't prove that it is an identical position. In certain proofgames it is a fact, but if e.g. 19.Na3 Rb8 20.Nb1 Ra8 it is not identical. There are several rules competing with other rules. Which one is the strongest? Olli.
Retros Probleemblad kirjoitti 27.05.2014 kello 17:51:
> On 05/27/2014 11:57 AM, Guus Rol wrote:
> > Hi Olli,
> > Yes, you got the idea! I am not sure about the precise position and
> > timing but basically DR cooks it if you aim for the position after Bf8.
> I don't think so. DR uses article 5.1b ("The game is drawn when a 
> position has arisen in which neither player can checkmate the
>  opponent?s 
> king with any series of legal moves."). Since ignoring the 3-fold 
> repetition is legal, there's a legal continuation in which any colour 
> can checkmate.
> Joost
> _______________________________________________
> Retros mailing list
> Retros at janko.at
> http://www.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/retros

More information about the Retros mailing list