[Retros] More fun with rules

Kevin Begley kevinjbegley at gmail.com
Mon Jun 16 07:23:02 EDT 2014

So, correct me if I'm wrong... you are saying that you can get away with a
draw, providing your illegal move captures all your opponent's mating
units....?   HAHAHA!

a) grab a pawn (any pawn).
b) sweep your arm across the board (leave nothing).
c) claim draw by insufficient mating material, or
d) when the arbiter reinstates the position, claim draw by repetition.

I haven't studied Bruce Lee movies carefully enough to attempt this.

On Mon, Jun 16, 2014 at 4:15 AM, Joost de Heer <joost at sanguis.xs4all.nl>

> Oops, I missed 7.5b:
> After the action taken under Article 7.5.a, for the first completed
> illegal move by a player the arbiter shall give two minutes extra time to
> his opponent; for the second completed illegal move by the same player the
> arbiter shall declare the game lost by this player. However, the game is
> drawn if the position is such that the opponent cannot checkmate the
> player’s king by any possible series of legal moves.
> Joost
> On 06/16/2014 11:42 AM, Joost de Heer wrote:
>> Hello,
>>  From the FIDE handbook
>> (http://www.fide.com/fide/handbook.html?id=171&view=article):
>> ----
>> 7.5
>>      If during a game it is found that an illegal move has been
>> completed, the position immediately before the irregularity shall be
>> reinstated. If the position immediately before the irregularity cannot
>> be determined, the game shall continue from the last identifiable
>> position prior to the irregularity. Articles 4.3 and 4.7 apply to the
>> move replacing the illegal move. The game shall then continue from this
>> reinstated position.
>>      If the player has moved a pawn to the furthest distant rank,
>> pressed the clock, but not replaced the pawn with a new piece, the move
>> is illegal. The pawn shall be replaced by a queen of the same colour as
>> the pawn.
>> ----
>> 9.2
>> The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by a player having the move,
>> when the same position for at least the third time (not necessarily by a
>> repetition of moves)
>> ----
>> With these rules I can draw against anyone: I play an illegal move, the
>> position is reinstated, I play another illegal move, the position is
>> reinstated again, and now I can claim a 3-fold repetition draw because
>> this position occurred for the 3rd time in this game :)
>> Furthermore, the clausule 'in the same game' is missing from the 3R
>> rule: The beginposition has occurred millions of times with the same
>> player to move and castling rights equal.
>> Joost
>> _______________________________________________
>> Retros mailing list
>> Retros at janko.at
>> http://www.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/retros
> _______________________________________________
> Retros mailing list
> Retros at janko.at
> http://www.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/retros
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://one.pairlist.net/pipermail/retros/attachments/20140616/b0a0da7f/attachment.html>

More information about the Retros mailing list