[Retros] More fun with rules

Joost de Heer joost at sanguis.xs4all.nl
Mon Jun 16 07:11:48 EDT 2014


All it takes is one claim, after that I have at least a draw: I make 
illegal moves until I either checkmate my opponent (win), until my 
opponent makes an illegal move himself (which I can claim, and the game 
is reinstated to the original source of the illegality, draw), or until 
my opponent claims a second illegality (see previous point, draw).


On 06/16/2014 12:59 PM, Kevin Begley wrote:
> err, I suppose you can make this claim against yourself, can't you?
> OK, you can draw anyone, providing they do not resign.
> On Mon, Jun 16, 2014 at 3:56 AM, Kevin Begley <kevinjbegley at gmail.com
> <mailto:kevinjbegley at gmail.com>> wrote:
>     @Joost,
>     Suppose your opponent does not claim that an illegal move was made?
>     Suppose, for example, that your opponent is willing allow even
>     checkmate, in order to disprove your "draw anyone" claim?   :-)
>     On Mon, Jun 16, 2014 at 2:42 AM, Joost de Heer
>     <joost at sanguis.xs4all.nl <mailto:joost at sanguis.xs4all.nl>> wrote:
>         Hello,
>          >From the FIDE handbook
>         (http://www.fide.com/fide/__handbook.html?id=171&view=__article
>         <http://www.fide.com/fide/handbook.html?id=171&view=article>):
>         ----
>         7.5
>              If during a game it is found that an illegal move has been
>         completed, the position immediately before the irregularity
>         shall be reinstated. If the position immediately before the
>         irregularity cannot be determined, the game shall continue from
>         the last identifiable position prior to the irregularity.
>         Articles 4.3 and 4.7 apply to the move replacing the illegal
>         move. The game shall then continue from this reinstated position.
>              If the player has moved a pawn to the furthest distant
>         rank, pressed the clock, but not replaced the pawn with a new
>         piece, the move is illegal. The pawn shall be replaced by a
>         queen of the same colour as the pawn.
>         ----
>         9.2
>         The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by a player having the
>         move, when the same position for at least the third time (not
>         necessarily by a repetition of moves)
>         ----
>         With these rules I can draw against anyone: I play an illegal
>         move, the position is reinstated, I play another illegal move,
>         the position is reinstated again, and now I can claim a 3-fold
>         repetition draw because this position occurred for the 3rd time
>         in this game :)
>         Furthermore, the clausule 'in the same game' is missing from the
>         3R rule: The beginposition has occurred millions of times with
>         the same player to move and castling rights equal.
>         Joost
>         _________________________________________________
>         Retros mailing list
>         Retros at janko.at <mailto:Retros at janko.at>
>         http://www.pairlist.net/__mailman/listinfo/retros
>         <http://www.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/retros>
> _______________________________________________
> Retros mailing list
> Retros at janko.at
> http://www.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/retros

More information about the Retros mailing list