[Retros] Fairy Conditions FW: Messigny 2013 results

Yoav Ben-Zvi yoavbz97 at gmail.com
Fri Jul 5 05:27:04 EDT 2013

At a more basic level I wonder about the difference in the standard
interpretation of the Maximummer condition as compared to Monochrome Chess.
Maximummer is considered a restriction of the solution space, which can be
attributed to one side or both, while Monochrome Chess is taken to be a
modification of the rules and is generally applied to both sides. The
practical difference lies in the answer to the question of whether a King
can move into check when its capture is prohibited by the condition (in
mating problems one might also ask if it is mate when the escape from check
does not meet the condition). It seems to me opportunities could be opened
by considering making use of the opposite interpretation for each condition
which might be called "Monochrommer" (including White, Black or Double) and
"Maximum Chess" (This was suggested many years ago and called
"Ultra-Maximummer", see Anthony Dickins, A Guide to Fairy Chess, chapter on
unorthodox stipulations).

Yoav Ben-Zvi

-----Original Message-----
From: retros-bounces at janko.at [mailto:retros-bounces at janko.at] On Behalf Of
Joost de Heer
Sent: Friday, July 05, 2013 10:30 AM
To: The Retrograde Analysis Mailing List
Subject: Re: [Retros] Messigny 2013 results

(Apologies, I know that the retro list probably isn't the best place to
discuss fairy mess......)

> Nicolas Dupont later showed me a Monochrome Chess definition that

> explicitly mentions queen side castling (most others apparently don't

> mention it). This definition says that queen side castling is illegal,

> so I now think that it should be illegal,

Just because one definition says it's illegal doesn't make it illegal.

- In (Hyper)volage, the rook will not change colour after queenside castling
- In monochrome, queenside castling is forbidden because the rook changes
square colour

So in one case it matters that the square colour changes, in the other it

- In Einstein, the rook will become a bishop after castling
- In Antiandernach, the rook will not change colour after castling.
- In Haan, castling leaves two holes

So in some cases aftereffects are applied to the rook, in others they

I'm starting to agree more and more with Kevin's 'fairy chess == mess'

Retros mailing list
Retros at janko.at

No virus found in this message.
Checked by AVG - www.avg.com
Version: 2013.0.3345 / Virus Database: 3204/6463 - Release Date: 07/04/13

More information about the Retros mailing list