[Retros] Messigny 2013 results

Thomas Maeder maeder at glue.ch
Fri Jul 5 01:27:15 EDT 2013

Am 04.07.2013 23:34, schrieb Joost de Heer:


> Case 1: With Madrasi, castling is just a kingmove. With maximummer it's both a king- and a rookmove. So what is it with Madrasi+Maximummer? In your position, queenside castling is possible under the madrasi rule, but if it's also a rookmove according to maximummer, then it's not legal because the rook is paralysed.

No. The two castling interpretations occur at independent stages of the reasoning; they can easily co-exist.

In Madrasi+Maximummer, castling is allowed
- if it is the longest move (Maximummer interpretation)
- even if the rook is paralysed (Madrasi interpretation).

> In combination with Haan: If castling is a king-move, then only e1 should be a hole after castling. If castling is both a rook- and a kingmove, both a1 and e1 (in case of queenside castling) should be holes after castling. So haan would work differently in combination with Madrasi than in combination with maximummer.

No. In Haan Chess, castlings always leave two holes.

The notions "a king only move" and "both a king and rook move" are never applied directly. Rather, they motivate these conditions' special rules regarding castlings.


More information about the Retros mailing list