[Retros] Solidarity chess (=SC)

Eric Angelini Eric.Angelini at kntv.be
Thu Dec 20 04:33:02 EST 2012

> The position below

... is just beautiful -- bravo François!
(I have to admit that things are more subtle than I thought --
even in orthodox chess...)

-----Message d'origine-----
De : retros-bounces at janko.at [mailto:retros-bounces at janko.at] De la part de Francois Labelle
Envoyé : jeudi 20 décembre 2012 9:51
À : The Retrograde Analysis Mailing List
Objet : Re: [Retros] Solidarity chess (=SC)

On 12/19/2012 05:40 PM, Noam Elkies wrote:

> Eric Angelini <Eric.Angelini at kntv.be> writes:


>> I know that I am not allowed to put delibarately my King in check --

>> but how does this affect the chess game where the only rule is: -

>> you win the game by capturing the opponent's King, period?

> No real difference as long as you're concerned only with orthodox play

> (wins stay wins, "mate in n" becomes "win in n+1", etc.).

I don't think so! The position below is a "mate in 1" which becomes a
"win in 3" if we need to capture the opponent's King:


Retros mailing list
Retros at janko.at

More information about the Retros mailing list