[Retros] Mate with a 3-fold repetition

A J Mestel A.J.Mestel at damtp.cam.ac.uk
Thu Oct 11 10:11:02 EDT 2007

Well there's rule 9.1, saying the offer remains open until it is
accepted or the game ends "in some other way"...I think the flag falling
would be deemed to be "some other way."


A player wishing to offer a draw shall do so after having made a
move on the chessboard and before stopping his clock and starting the
opponent`s clock. An offer at any other time during play is still valid,
but Article 12.6 must be considered. No conditions can be attached to the
offer. In both cases the offer cannot be withdrawn and remains valid until
the opponent accepts it, rejects it orally, rejects it by touching a piece
with the intention of moving or capturing it, or the game is concluded in
some other way.

On Thu, 11 Oct 2007, Joost de Heer wrote:



> On Thu, 11 Oct 2007, joose norri wrote:


>> I used to think that one could accept the draw after the flag fell, and it

>> was that way until the 80s, but I was very emphatically assured by a very

>> experienced arbiter that one cannot.


> Hmm:


> 5.2


> a. The game is drawn when the player to move has no legal move and his

> king is not in check. The game is said to end in `stalemate`. This

> immediately ends the game, provided that the move producing the stalemate

> position was legal.

> b. The game is drawn when a position has arisen in which neither player

> can checkmate the opponent`s king with any series of legal moves. The game is

> said to end in a `dead position`. This immediately ends the game, provided

> that the move producing the position was legal.

> c. The game is drawn upon agreement between the two players during the

> game. This immediately ends the game. (See Article 9.1)


> 6.10


> Except where Articles 5.1 or one of the Articles 5.2 (a), (b) and (c) apply,

> if a player does not complete the prescribed number of moves in the allotted

> time, the game is lost by the player. However, the game is drawn, if the

> position is such that the opponent cannot checkmate the player`s king by any

> possible series of legal moves, even with the most unskilled counterplay.


> The way I interpret this, one could accept a draw offer after the flag has

> fallen. 5.2.c is active, so 6.10 should not be applied, because there is

> nowhere a definition of 'finalizing the draw offer' (when the offer is

> accepted with a 'yes'? When the players shake hands? When 1/2-1/2 is written

> on the score sheet? Something else?)


> Joost

> _______________________________________________

> Retros mailing list

> Retros at janko.at

> http://www.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/retros


More information about the Retros mailing list