[Retros] A funny question about FIDE rules

Joost de Heer joost at sanguis.xs4all.nl
Fri Jun 22 11:41:16 EDT 2007

> 6) offer a draw + enemy's flag fall


> I think in 6 the flag fall wil be prioritary, because the move

> of the enemy (accepting the draw offer) has not been completed.

9.1a: A player wishing to offer a draw shall do so after having made a
move on the chessboard and before stopping his clock and starting the
opponent`s clock. An offer at any other time during play is still valid,
but Article 12.6 must be considered. No conditions can be attached to
the offer. In both cases the offer cannot be withdrawn and remains valid
until the opponent accepts it, rejects it orally, rejects it by touching
a piece with the intention of moving or capturing it, or the game is
concluded in some other way.

The last part indicates to me that a fallen flag overrules a draw offer.


More information about the Retros mailing list