[Retros] Example 2 with castling from Yefim Treger 08/21/2004

Seth Breidbart sethb at panix.com
Sun Aug 22 01:33:43 EDT 2004

That's a very interesting issue. If the position is such that

(1) White has not moved his K or KR.
(2) It is provable that White can never castle (e.g. black pawn on e2
which cannot be captured except by K or KR)

Is that the same (for 3-repetition rule) as a position where the
pieces are in the same locations, but White _has_ moved his K?

That is, is a "right to castle" that provably cannot be exercised the
same as "right to castle" or "no right to castle"?


More information about the Retros mailing list