[Retros] draw claim/move

Pastmaker at aol.com Pastmaker at aol.com
Tue Jun 5 08:01:48 EDT 2007

I do not really follow the inquiry here, but it is reasonably clear as a
matter of statutory construction that the claim of a draw, or the ability to do
so, is not a consituent element of the term "move" as used in Rule 9.2:

"9.2 The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by the player having the
move, when the same position, for at least the third time (not necessarily by a
repetition of moves)

(a) is about to appear, if he first writes his move on his scoresheet and
declares to the arbiter his intention to make this move, or

(b) has just appeared, and the player claiming the draw has the move.

Positions as in (a) and (b) are considered the same, if the same player has
the move, pieces of the same kind and colour occupy the same squares, and the
possible moves of all the pieces of both players are the same.
Positions are not the same if a pawn that could have been captured en passant
can no longer in this manner be captured or if the right to castle has been
changed temporarily or permanently. "


See what's free at http://www.aol.com.
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://www.pairlist.net/pipermail/retros/attachments/20070605/6f6ec5a2/attachment.htm>

More information about the Retros mailing list