[Retros] Castling in the future...

Francois Perruchaud francois.perruchaud at wanadoo.fr
Tue Aug 24 10:48:50 EDT 2004

> -----Message d'origine-----

> De : retros-admin at janko.at [mailto:retros-admin at janko.at] De

> la part de A J Mestel

> Envoyé : mardi 24 août 2004 16:24

> À : retros at janko.at

> Objet : Re: [Retros] Castling in the future...


> There is a related question for the practical player: If I

> lose on time

> and my opponent has a bare king the game is usually declared a draw,

> beacuse I cannot get mated, whereas if I have

> K+Q+R and my opponent has K+P I lose, because usually there is a legal

> sequence in which I get mated. But what about K+Q+R against

> K+B? Now there

> is no possible mate and "logically" it should be a draw, but

> I'm not sure

> what the rulemakers think of this. And it's easy to construct

> positions

> where both sides have mating material but the game is drawn in "dead

> reckoning" terms. If I could not possibly ever lose, do I lose if I

> overstep the time limit? I ought to know, but I don't.


> Jonathan Mestel

>From FIDE Chess Rules :

6.10 Except where Articles 5.1 or one of the Articles 5.2 (a), (b) and (c)
apply, if a player does not complete the prescribed number of moves in the
allotted time, the game is lost by the player. However, the game is drawn,
if the position is such that the opponent cannot checkmate the player's king
by any possible series of legal moves, even with the most unskilled

So you don't lose if you can't lose (i.e. be checkmated) !

François Perruchaud

More information about the Retros mailing list